15°C

Old School House Museum

Frankston Cultural Walk Frankston

Description


Hours: Open during school hours by appointment only

Old School House Museum located at a current school.

Description

Housed in a building over a hundred years old, this museum teaches education from the past. A period classroom includes information about some past students. Photographs and memorabilia provide an insight into the school system of the earlier days. Historical school rolls are also on display.

Mrs. Grace McComb, a Frankston pioneer having settled in the Frankston area in 1852, led residents in petitioning the Government for the grant of allotments 5, 6,7,8,9 and 10 of section 4 of the village of Frankston, Port Phillip Bay, for state school purposes. The application for the 3 acres was made on October 28th, 1873.

The land was gazetted as temporarily reserved for state school purposes on November 11th, 1873. By the end of October, 1874, a timber building large enough to accommodate 6- pupils was completed. Frankston State School opened on November 1st, 1874, with an enrolment of 45 children and Alexander Allan was Head Teacher and Augusta S. Petrie as Work Mistress. A three-roomed residence was attached to the school, possibly the result of the Education Department calling tenders for additions to the school in timber during 1880. By mid-1889, because the school's enrolment had risen to 250, the residence had been converted into a classroom and brick classroom added. Extensive alterations and additions were made to the school between 1913 and 1924 and the names of former pupils who enlisted in World War 1 were inscribed on bronze plates around the War Memorial, which was erected in front of the school.

The school's enrolment continues to increase and by 1923 the Masonic Hall supper room had to be hired. Grade 7 & 8 transferred to the High School when it opened there in 1928. By 1929 enrolments had reached 350. In 1937 three new brick classrooms were erected some distance from the original buildings and these classrooms and the new office, staffrooms and a shelter shed then formed the nucleus of the future school. Increasing enrolments meant overcrowding continued to plague the school during the early 1940s, despite the addition of a forth brick building in 1941.

A two-storied wing comprising six brick classrooms, built in 1945, relieved overcrowded conditions for a time, but Frankston continued to develop rapidly and by 1950 an enrolment of 905 meant overcrowding was again a problem, with halls and shelter sheds being utilizes as classrooms. The Education Department's policy in the 1950s of building new schools away from the business centre relived the situation. In 1959 Frankston was proclaimed a training school for future teachers. A Rural Training School was established in 1962 to train teachers for small country schools. A central library was built and opened by the Hon. L.H.S. Thompson, MLC, on August 1st, 1969. Head teachers who served for long periods at Frankston State Schools include Alexander Allan (1847-77), Thomas S. Robinson (1882-92), William H. Richardson (1907-17), James P. Jennings (1917-28) and William A. Shakespeare (1961-68).

Opening hours |Open during school hours by appointment only

Entry fee | $2.00 per person

victoriancollections.net.au/organisations/frankston-primary-old-school-museum

More on the history can be found here: frankstonps.vic.edu.au/our-school/history


More Nearby

Deirdre Mair & Harry Stitt - Mirage

Deirdre Mair & Harry Stitt - Mirage

Artists: Deirdre Mair & Harry Stitt Sculpture: Mirage Location: Frankston Beach Materials: Steel Dimensions: 264 x 263 x 615cm About the Artists: Deirdre and Harry are students of archi...
Budget Rent A Car

Budget Rent A Car

At Budget Car & Truck Rental we are dedicated to providing our customers with the highest level of customer service and offer high quality and innovative rental services providing true value to ou...
Endota Spa Frankston

Endota Spa Frankston

Endota Spa Frankston is a sublime, spacious spa space, set on Balmoral Walk – the cinema-end entrance to the Bayside Centre. An Endota kiosk sits within the shopping centre itself. Here, you can purch...
Georgiev Vallialac - Sandcastles & Kelp

Georgiev Vallialac - Sandcastles & Kelp

Artist: Georgiev Vallialac Sculpture: Sandcastles and Kelp Location: Frankston Foreshore - Gould Street near Mile Bridge  
Lucky Inn

Lucky Inn

Lucky Inn is a family owned Chinese and Malaysian restaurant located on Foot Street in Frankston. It offers both take away and a BYO dine in service.
Melbourne's Murals - Baby Memorial

Melbourne's Murals - Baby Memorial

Every year, around 113,000 Australians have a miscarriage, endure the pain of stillbirth and / or lose their baby in the first 28 days after birth. In acknowledgement of the babies lost, including th...
13CABS

13CABS

Call now to book a taxi cab on 13 CABS (13 2227), book online or download the 13CABS App on your phone. Service options include: Automated taxi cab bookings Door-to-door personal transport First ...
George Rose - Untitled

George Rose - Untitled

Artist: George Rose, Melbourne Artist Bio: George Rose is a Melbourne-based artist best known for her large-scale murals. If she’s not working on commercial projects, she’s on the global street art ...
Taj Alexander - Pyrite Cubes Lighting

Taj Alexander - Pyrite Cubes Lighting

Artist: Taj Alexander Frankston Principal Pedestrian Network was developed by Frankston City Council and ASPECT Studios, working closely with the local community to develop a plan to promote walking ...
Taj Alexander - Pyrite Cubes Lighting

Taj Alexander - Pyrite Cubes Lighting

Artist: Taj Alexander Sculpture: Pyrite Cubes Location: Gallery Lane, Frankston Frankston Principal Pedestrian Network was developed by Frankston City Council and ASPECT Studios in 2013, worki...

More Like This

cultural heritage
Round House

Round House

This remarkable house has been a noted feature of the approach to Oliver’s Hill since it was built for the Henty family in 1953. Completely round, it is an elegant example of the architect Roy Grounds...
Comfort Station

Comfort Station

The Comfort Station is thought to have been constructed in c1951-52. Sited on a prominent corner on the Nepean Highway, the Comfort Station was a popular stopping point for motorists travelling to and...
Yamala Mansion

Yamala Mansion

Yamala was one of the earliest mansions built on Oliver’s Hill. It was purchased in 1876 by Sir John Madden (1844-1918) who later became Chief Justice of Victoria, and was appointed Lieutenant Governo...
Grimwade Clocktower

Grimwade Clocktower

General Harold William Grimwade CB, CMG, VD (1869-1949) was one of Frankston’s most prominent residents and benefactors. The son of a wealthy wholesaler and parliamentarian Frederick Sheppard Grimwade...
Frankston Pier

Frankston Pier

Originally built closer to the base of Oliver's Hill in 1857, the pier was constructed at its current site and extended into deeper waters in 1863, after a public petition.  The Frankston Pier h...
Kananook Creek Walking Trail

Kananook Creek Walking Trail

Discover the Kananook Creek Walking Trail The Kananook Creek Walking Trail is a hidden gem weaving through one of Frankston’s most picturesque natural environments. Stretching 7.5 kilometres from Fra...
Ballam Park Homestead

Ballam Park Homestead

Ballam Park Homestead is situated just 5 kilometres from the heart of Frankston. The Homestead is an oasis of tranquillity, where the visitor is able to step back in time, back to the days of rustling...
Frankston Park Gates

Frankston Park Gates

The Frankston Oval Gates were obtained from the Old Melbourne Gaol that had parts previously demolished. The massive iron gates were erected at the Frankston Oval where gate posts were built by stone ...
Peter Corlett - Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Statue

Peter Corlett - Dame Elisabeth Murdoch Statue

A LIFE-size bronze sculpture of Dame Elisabeth Murdoch is located in the foyer of the Frankston Arts Centre.  The statue, commemorating the late philanthropist's contribution to her local commun...
Stephen Glassborow - Johnny Famechon Statue

Stephen Glassborow - Johnny Famechon Statue

Artist:  Stephen Glassborow Sculpture: Johnny Famechon Description: A larger than life bronze sculpture of boxing champion Johnny (John) Famechon stands tall at Ballam Park to immortalise the ...

Map & Directions

40 Davey Street, Frankston